Introduction

This feature is available to Workspace Accountables and Privileged Members.

- Please be aware that disabling the auto-shutdown is of your own responsibility. Any unwanted incurred costs because you forgot to turn off the VM is on your own account.
- It is strongly advised to turn on auto-shutdown for deallocated VMs, see also Who/what is License Administrator / licenseadmin@mydre.org?
By default, all Virtual Machines (VMs) will be automatically shut down at 19:00 UCT +01:00 (Amsterdam, Brussels, Paris, etc). This auto-shutdown is there to prevent you from incurring unnecessary costs because you forgot to deallocate the VM(s).
However, the shutdown is not always convenient. Think of a situation where:
- You are running calculations that take much more time than is available before the shutdown;
- Members work at different hours;
- Members are located in different Time Zones.
Therefore, Workspace Accountables and Privileged Members can configure the auto-shutdown settings of their VMs.
How to adjust the auto-shutdown
- Enter your Workspace by clicking anywhere on the Workspace tile.
- Click on the three dots menu of the VM where you want to adjust the auto-shutdown settings.
- The VM tile should display the current auto-shutdown setting. By default this is 19:00 (UTC+01:00).
- Click on Update Auto-Shutdown.
- A pop-up with the current settings will appear.
- To disable the auto-shutdown completely, click the slider next to Enabled. You will receive a warning message as this might lead to unwanted costs if the VM is not turned off manually. Click on Update to confirm.
- Alternatively, you can select a different time or a different time zone.
- Once you confirmed, the VM tile will display the new auto-shutdown settings.
Tip
By default, no notification is sent before the VM automatically shuts down. However, you can enable shutdown notifications.
- Select the VM of which you want to receive a notification before the autoshutdown.
- Select the three dots menu > Manage and Monitor.
- A pop-up will appear with a QR code and the link Manage and monitor [your VM name]. Click on that link.
- The Azure Portal will open up. In the left hand menu, scroll down and under Operations, you will find Auto-shutdown.
- In the next section, set the value for Send notification before auto-shutdown? to Yes.
- Fill in the e-mail addresses of whoever needs to receive the notification.
- Press Save.