Be aware that virtual machine generalisation is an irreversible process! Once generalisation is started, it cannot be undone.
Generalisation means that any machine specific information is removed and virtual machine is transformed into a template or an image snapshot that can be re-used. In the myDRE portal all the generalisation steps have been automated on the background (generalisation, image creation and virtual machine deletion).
- Select the virtual machine you want to generalise. Make sure the machine is deallocated.
Navigate to three dots and select Generalize
- You can edit the Image name by clicking Edit
- To generalize the machine click on the Generalize [virtual machine name] button
- You will be asked to confirm the action, type in the text field 'yes'